Monday, May 12, 2014

Bout of Books Challenge: If You Like X, Try Y



Welcome to the first challenge for Bout of Books! There are SO MANY of us this time around! We are so pumped! (Pssst! Since it's only Day One, you can still sign up if you missed it until now. You totally want to. You can trust me on this. Or Sam, if he's more your cup of tea. Just look at those puppy dog eyes. Would he lie to you?)


Anyway, if you've made it this far, you're probably wondering about the challenge. Fair enough. We'll dispense with the extraneous GIFs and move onto the details! We decided to do a fairly simple challenge to ease everyone in. It's pretty easy but fun! Fair warning, though: It can often lead to an exponentially increased TBR list. Sorry not sorry.

And, because you guys are JUST SO AWESOME, we're doing a giveaway to correspond with the challenge! The winner will receive the book of his/her choice ($15 or less) from The Book Depository!

All you have to do is give one or more recommendations based on the formula "If you like ____, try ___."

The specifics are entirely up to you. You can give a recommendation based on an entire genre, an author, a title, a random subject, whatever!

Examples:
If you like YA Dystopian, try Divergent by Veronica Roth.

If you like Julia Quinn, try A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare.

If you like coming of age stories, try Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty.

If you like The Best Man by Kristan Higgins, try Simply Irresistible by Jill Shalvis.

If you like unique and lyrical writing styles, try Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov.

If you like being confused out of your ever-loving mind only to have it be totally worth it in the end, try Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta.

Down to the nitty gritty:
• You can give your recommendation(s) in a comment to this post, in a tweet, on your own update post, whatever.
• LEAVE A COMMENT TO THIS POST with your recommendation or the link to it, using the name you used to sign up for Bout of Books (and preferably your corresponding sign-up number, found on this post). We must be able to verify you are a legitimate participant of Bout of Books 10 in order for you to win the giveaway.
• The challenge will remain open Monday, May 12 from 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM CST.
• A winner will be chosen at random and contacted via email. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to the email before a new winner will be chosen.
• You must be 13 years of age or older in order to win. Giveaway is international, open to anywhere The Book Depository will ship.

That's it! Have fun! Like Dean here.


Okay, that was the last one. For real this time. Now, let's see some recommendations!

No comments:

Post a Comment